AACC International Milling & Baking Division Business Meeting 2017 Spring Technical Conference Baltimore Hilton, Baltimore, MD April 20, 2017

Call to order

Chair Brian Walker called the meeting to order at 12:15 pm.

Opening remarks

Chair Brian Walker introduced the 2017 officers and advisory board members in attendance and recognized the STC sponsors.

Minutes

Rebecca Miller, secretary read the minutes of the October 24, 2016 business meeting held at the annual meeting in Savannah, GA. Art Bettge clarified that the "Cereal Science for the Food Scientist" course in March 2017 was a seminar and not a webinar as had been reported in the minutes. The correction was accepted and made to the minutes. Art Bettge moved to accept the minutes as corrected. Barbara Heidolph seconded and the motion passed.

Treasurer's report

Barbara Heidolph read the Treasurer report as Nicole Rees was unable to attend. The error in the accounting for the 2016 STC had been resolved. There had been additional charges by AACCI and the income had not been reported separately. Activity for the period of 10/17/15 to 10/23/16 was:

Starting Balance	\$102,558.48
Income	\$ 6,105.00
Expenses	(\$ 8,108.75)
Net Loss	<u>(\$ 2,003.75)</u>
Ending Balance	\$100,554.73

Bill Olsen moved to approve the report. It was seconded by Dave Katzke and passed unanimously.

Old Business

- A. STC speakers and attendees were thanked. There were 62 registered attendees. This year registration was increased to \$200 to help cover expenses. Income from registration was \$12,200. Barbara Heidolph was recognized for her effort in securing sponsorships which totaled \$11,500. The financial goal of the STC is to break even.
- B. Travel Award Laura Ehmke, KSU, was awarded the Leah Barna student travel award.
- C. Annual Meeting Milling and Baking will not be sponsoring a symposium this year. A hot topic, possibly on fiber, is being considered. The Division will sponsor an evening coffee reception again this year.

New Business

A. Nominations

The Advisory Board has nominated the following officers for 2018:

Chair Elect – Heidi Long; Secretary – Rebecca Miller; Treasurer – Brook Carson; Advisory Board – Shane Collins. Brian Walker opened the floor for additional nominations. None were received. The election will be held via email during summer 2017.

- B. Baustian Award Nominations are currently being accepted.
- C. Golf Chair Recognition

Brian Walker presented Bill Olson with a trophy recognizing his many years of volunteer service as the Division "Golf Chair".

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was made by Barbara Heidolph, seconded by Tim Ashbrenner and passed unanimously.

Submitted by Rebecca Miller, secretary AACCI Milling & Baking Division