

Northwest Section

## William F. Geddes Memorial Lectureship Award

The purpose of the William F. Geddes Memorial Lectureship, sponsored by the AACC International Northwest Section, is to honor the memory of Professor William F. Geddes and advance the profession and practice of cereal chemistry by bringing to Minnesota outstanding persons not normally available to the Section to speak on advances in any aspects of cereal science and technology.

In recent years, the Geddes lecture has also become an opportunity for student involvement and interaction with industry and this year's lecture will continue that tradition. An interdisciplinary student planning committee (composed of food science and nutrition graduate students), under the leadership of Professor Len Marquart, aims to bridge the gap between food science and nutrition disciplines as well as provide opportunities for both undergrad and graduate students to meet and discuss important issues with professionals.

## **Previous Geddes Lecturers:**

1981 Byron Miller 1982 Walter Bushuk 1983 David Kritchevsky 1984 R. Carl Hoseney 1985 Lamartine Hood 1986 Maura Bean 1987 Edmund Lusas 1988 David Lineback 1989 David Jenkins 1990 Kenneth Gilles 1991 John Nelson 1992 Paul A. Seib 1993 James N. BeMiller 1994 Thomas E. Luallen 1995 Pat T. Berglund 1996 Jon Faubion

1997 Jay-Lin Jane 1998 A.W. "Sandy" MacGregor 1999 Lloyd Rooney 2000 Jerold Bietz 2001 Jan Delcour 2002 Graeme H. McIntosh 2003 James Dexter 2004 Craig F. Morris 2005 Jim Anderson 2006 Virgil Smail 2007 Kaisa Poutanen 2008 Bruce Hamaker 2009 R. Gary Fulcher 2010 Christophe Courtin 2011 Marta Izydorczyk 2012 Col. David Schnakenberg