Cereals & Grains Association
Log In

For immediate release

Media Contact: Lauren Bennett
Phone: +1.651.994.3802
email AACCI here


AACC International Presents 2012 Awards in Hollywood, Florida

St. Paul, Minn. (October 24, 2012)—AACC International recently presented its 2012 awards to several AACCI members. The awards were presented at the Opening and Closing Sessions of the 2012 Annual Meeting held in Hollywood, Florida on September 30 and October 3, respectively.

Maureen Olewnik, with AIB International, was named this year’s recipient of the prestigious William F. Geddes Memorial Award—one of the association’s highest honors. The award, created in 1961 in recognition of the leadership and dedication of the late William F. Geddes, honors the zeal and unselfish industry of an individual member and emphasizes the importance of his or her contributions to the work of the society. 

Barbara Heidolph and Jay-lin Jane were named AACCI Fellows in recognition of their outstanding contributions to cereal science and technology. The award honors achievements in research, industry, leadership, education, administration, communication, or regulatory affairs. Heidolph, a member for more than 25 years, is Principal in Technical Service for ICL Performance Products LP. She has also authored many journal and encyclopedia articles and reference books, and has been granted six patents. 

Jane is a Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor in the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition, Iowa State University and has received numerous awards including the AACCI Alsberg-French-Schoch Award. 

This year, the Edith Christensen Award for Outstanding Contributions in Analytical Methods was presented to Terry Nelsen. This award honors scientific and technical contributions that have advanced the grain science field. Nelsen served as statistical consultant to the Approved Methods Committee for more than 25 years. He has organized and presented many stats symposia at AACCI meetings. Retired from USDA-ARS, he stays active with AACCI, and currently does stats consulting. 

Girish Ganjyal, a Principal Scientist at PepsiCo, was awarded the association’s Young Scientist Research Award. This award recognizes outstanding contributions in basic and applied research to cereal science. Ganjyal’s research has focused on areas of extrusion, food processing and food ingredients research for the past 9 years in the food industry.

The AACCI Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to Andrew Ross. This award honors an educator who has made considerable contributions through teaching in the field of cereal science and technology. Ross, an Associate Professor of Crop and Food Sciences at Oregon State University, has taught or co-taught 10 college-level food or cereal science related courses. He also received the 2011 Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences R.M. Wade Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Zorba Josué Hernández Estrada, a Ph.D. student in materials science at Centro de Investigación y de Estudios Avanzados del Instituto Politécnico Nacional, Unidad Querétaro (CINVESTAV, Querétaro), and Juan de Dios Figueroa, working in the area of bio-organic materials at CINVESTAV-IPN (Center for Advanced Studies and Research of the National Polytechnic Institute) received the Texture Technologies Quality Research Award. Awarded for the first time, the two-part award includes recognition for both AACCI published research and oral or poster presentations.

Nominations for the 2013 awards are now being sought. Award descriptions and criteria, past awardees, and nomination deadlines are available at www.aaccnet.org/membership/awards.