Cereals & Grains Association
Log In

AACC International Announces Awardees of the
2009 Best Student Research Paper Competition

St. Paul, Minn. (September 30, 2009)—AACC International is proud to announce the results of its 2009 Best Student Research Paper Competition held at the 2009 Annual Meeting. The objectives of the competition were to challenge students to demonstrate superior presentation skills, highlight the best grain science research conducted and presented by students, and offer an opportunity for students to interact with the AACC Intl. community at an early stage in their career.

The competition was judged in two stages. During the first phase, university department heads nominated student members who submitted an abstract and initial presentation. A jury reviewed the many nominations and chose six students to advance to the final round of competition that took place on September 15, 2009, in Baltimore, MD, U.S.A. Each of these six students received a travel grant to attend the meeting.

Winning first place was Sean Finnie, Kansas State University, with his “Variation in polar lipid composition within near-isogenic wheat lines containing different puroindoline haplotypes” paper. Sean received a $1,000 prize and the opportunity to publish his paper with AACC Intl.

Liyi Yang from Texas A&M University won second place with her “Inhibitory effect of sorghum 3-deoxyanthocyanin structure on esophageal cancer cell proliferation in vitro” paper. She received a $500 cash award and the opportunity to add her paper to the Cereal Science Knowledge Database.

Coming in third place was Stephanie Moriartey from the University of Alberta with her paper, “Effect of health information on the acceptability of bread fortified with barley beta-glucan.” She received a $250 cash award and the opportunity to add her paper to the Cereal Science Knowledge Database.

Other finalists included Sindhu Nair, Washington State University; Moustafa Saad, Université Montpellier II; and Catrin Tyl, University of Minnesota.

AACC Intl. kindly thanks the following sponsors for providing award funds: Cargill Inc., Danisco USA Inc., Flowers Foods, Frito Lay Inc., General Mills Inc., ICL Performance Product LP, and Kraft Foods.

AACC Intl. is an organization of professionals who contribute to the research, development, and processing of grains and grain-based products.