Cereals & Grains Association
Log In

AACC Intl. Announces New Board Members for 2010-2011

St. Paul, Minn. (November 4, 2010)—AACC International installed its new board members at the conclusion of the association’s annual meeting, held October 24–27, 2010, in Savannah, GA, U.S.A.

Debi Rogers, a member of AACC Intl. for more than 25 years, has been elected to the office of president-elect. Rogers currently serves as the director of cereal chemistry for the American Institute of Baking (AIB) International, where her primary responsibility is teaching.

Art Bettge, food technologist and research laboratory manager for the USDA ARS Western Wheat Quality Laboratory (WWQL), has been elected director. Bettge has worked at WWQL for 29 years in various capacities and has been active in AACC Intl. for more than 20 years.

A member of AACC Intl. for more than 25 years, Bruce Hamaker has also been named director of the board. Currently, Hamaker serves as director of Purdue University’s Whistler Center for Carbohydrate Research and chair and professor of their Department of Food Science.

Barry McCleary began his term as AACC Intl. president at the conclusion of the annual meeting. McCleary is founder, owner, and CEO of Megazyme International Ireland Limited. He is also an adjunct professor of agriculture, food, and natural resources at the University of Sydney.

Other members of the 2010-2011 board include: Khalil Khan, chair of the board; Laura Hansen, treasurer; and Rodney Ian Booth, Gerard Downey, Lydia Tooker Midness, and Craig Morris, directors.

AACC International is an organization of professionals who contribute to the research, development, and processing of grains and grain-based products.