Cereals & Grains Association
Log In

Carl Wilhelm Brabender Award


The Carl Wilhelm Brabender Award was established to honor the distinguished contributions to the application of rheology in milling and baking. Sponsored jointly by C.W. Brabender Instruments, Inc. (South Hackensack, NJ) and Brabender OHG (Duisberg, Germany), the award is presented every three years and is administered alternately by the Cereals & Grains Association and the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Getreideforschung (Detmold, Germany). ​The only qualification is to be professionally active in rheology, specifically those engaged in the milling and baking industry. The awardee is invited to present an award lecture at the Cereals & Grains Association meeting or at one of the three annual meetings of the AG at which the award is given.

How to Nominate

Next award given in 2027.​ 

Nomination packet to include the following:​

  • A cover letter addressed to Cereals & Grains Association headquarters describing why the nominee is worthy of c​onsideration for the stated award
  • At least two and not more than five supporting letters
  • Curriculum vitae
  • List of publications
  • Nominations should address the activities most relevant to the award, with a clear statement of the impact the nominee has had in their specific area of expertise.

Award Winners

1967 Isydore Hlynka 1968 Arnoldus Crommetuyn
1970 William Shuey 1972 Egon Drews
1974 Walter Bushuk 1978 Keith Tipples and R. Henry Kilborn
1985 Seiichi Nagao 1988 Dorian Weipert
1990 Vladimir Rasper 1993 Rolf Kieffer
1996 Bert D'Appolonia 2002 Jozef Kokini
2008 Ton van Vliet 2014 Juan de Dios Figueroa Cárdenas