Cereals & Grains Association
Log In

Young Scientist Research Award


The Young Scientist Research Award is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions in basic and applied research to cereal science with the expectation that contributions will continue. This award recognizes research relevant to the broad aims and interests of Cereals & Grains Association. The research can be either basic (such as improved understanding of structure-function relationships) or applied (such as development of new products, processes, techniques, etc.) and nominees may be from government, academia, or industry. Evidence of accomplishments can include awards, publications, and invitations to lecture, patents, and commercialized foods, processes, and/or testing procedures. The research will be evaluated based on impact on advancing cereal science knowledge or improved production or utilization.

Nominees must be no older than 40 years by June 1 of the year the award is sought, but nominations of younger scientists are particularly encouraged. The nominee must also be a Cereals & Grains Association member. Achievements will be considered in relation to the age and experience of the nominee. The recipient will be encouraged to present a lecture at the Cereals & Grains Association meeting of the year in which the award is given. In his or her career, a person can only receive either the Young Scientist Research Award or the Cereals & Grains Association Biotechnology Division Bruce Wasserman Young Investigator Award.

How to Nominate

Submit nominations using the online form found on the awards page. The online ​nomination process is open from November-January 31.  

Nomination packets should include the following:

  • A cover letter addressed to Cereals & Grains Association headquarters describing why the nominee is worthy of consideration for the stated award
  • At least two and not more than five supporting letters
  • Curriculum vitae
  • List of publications
  • Nominations should address the activities most relevant to the award, with a clear statement of the impact the nominee has had in his/her specific area of expertise.

Award Winners

2007 Vijay Singh 2008 Christophe Courtin
2009 Mirko Bunzel 2010 Sajid Alavi
2011 Jinsong Bao 2012 Girish Ganjyal
2013 Senay Simsek 2014 Devin Rose
2015 Laura Nyström 2016 Mario Jekle
2017 Andreia Bianchini 2018 Katharina Scherf
2019 Filiz Koksel 2020 Mario M. Martinez