Cereals & Grains Association
Log In

Alsberg-French-Schoch Memorial Lectureship Award

2021 Awardee

Dr. Yong-Cheng Shi is a professor in the Department of Grain Science and Industry at Kansas State University (KSU). He received his B.E. in Chemical Engineering from Zhejiang University, and MS and Ph.D. in Grain Science from KSU. He worked for National Starch Food Innovation from 1994 to 2005. He has 17 granted US patents and more than 100 publications. He co-edited a book with Dr. C. C. Maningat on Resistant Starch: Sources, Application and Health Benefits in 2013. He was an Associate Editor of Cereal Chemistry from 2006 to 2013 and currently sits on the Editorial Board of Carbohydrate Polymers and the Advisory Board of Starch. Dr. Shi was the Belfort Lecturer at the Whistler Center for Carbohydrate Research, Purdue University in 2015. He received the Cereals & Grains Association Phil Williams Applied Research Award and was named a Fellow in 2016.

Award Criteria

The Alsberg-French-Schoch Memorial Lectureship was established in 1965 to honor chemists who have made distinguished contributions to fundamental starch science. Established by the Corn Refiners with a grant to the Cereals & Grains Association for its administration, the award is given every two to four years and includes the opportunity to present a lecture (generally 20 minutes) on some phase of starch science during a session of  an annual meeting of the association.

Award nominations will be considered again in 2023. 

Submit nominations using the online form found on the awards page. The online nomination form will be available from November 2022–January 31, 2023.​

How to Nominate

Nomination packets should include the following:​

  • Indication of the award for which the nominee is being nominated
  • A cover letter describing why the nominee is worthy of consideration for the stated award
  • At least two and not more than five supporting letters
  • Curriculum vitae
  • List of publications
  • Nominations should address the activities most relevant to the award, with a clear statement of the impact the nominee has had in his/her specific area of expertise.

Previous Awardees

1967 William Whelan 1970 Roy Whistler
1972 Carlyle Caldwell 1974 Dexter French
1976 Rudolph Sandstedt 1978 C. Greenwood
1980 Ziro Nikuni 1982 N. Badenhuizen
1984 David Manners 1986 Otto Wurzburg
1988 Christiane Mercier 1990 Jack Preiss
1991 Susumu Hizukuri 1993 William Doane
1995 Keiji Kainuma
1997 James BeMiller
1999 Paul Seib 2001 John Robyt
2003 Alain Buleon
2005 Jay-lin Jane
2007 Yasuhito Takeda
2009 ​​Mike Gidley

Bruce Hamaker​
​​Kwan Hwa Park

​Yasunori Nakamura​
​Louise Slade & Harry Levine
Yong-Cheng Shi​