Cereals & Grains Association
Log In

Edith A. Christensen Award for Outstanding Contributions in Analytical Methodology


In recognition of the central role that analytical methodology and approved methods have played in the history of Cereals & Grains Association and their future importance, the Edith A. Christensen Award for Outstanding Contributions in Analytical Methodology was created to recognize scientific contributions in analytical methodology, and service to the society through approved methods leadership. Awardees will have the option to present a lecture during an annual meeting of the Association at which the award is presented.


The recipient must have contributed to the development of new analytical technologies, and/or the application of new analytical technologies to cereal grains and products, and/or the application of existing analytical technologies to solving detection and measurement problems in the field of cereal science.

The recipient must have demonstrated involvement and leadership in approved methods activity within Cereals & Grains Association.

Membership in Cereals & Grains Association is required.

How to Nominate

Submit nominations using the online form found on the awards page. The online nomination form will be available from November-January 31.  

Nomination packets should also include the following:

  • Packet must include a letter of nomination detailing the nominee's accomplishments in analytical methodology and the approved methods process.
  • Two letters of support for the nominee must be submitted.   ​

 Award Winners

2005 Edith A. Christensen 2020 Padmanaban Krishnan
2006 Philip C. Williams
2007 Charles Gaines
2008 Barry McCleary
2009 Jon DeVries
2010 John MacDonald
2011 Janette Gelroth
2012 Terry Nelsen
2013 Stephen Delwiche
2014 Elaine Sopiwnyk
2015 Nancy Ames
2016 Wayne Moore
2017 Paul Wehling
2018 Ray Shillito
2019 Kathryn Phillips