Cereals & Grains Association
Log In

Thomas Burr Osborne Medal

2021 Awardee

John Taylor is a senior research fellow at the University of Pretoria in South Africa. A major theme of his research has concerned sorghum’s kafirin prolamin proteins. His team has made significant innovations in utilizing kafirin as a bioplastic polymer and as a functional replacement for gluten in non-wheat breads.  He has also contributed to improving African grain food nutrition in the areas of sorghum protein biofortification and essential mineral fortification. His work on sorghum malting and brewing has impacted substantially to the development of the sorghum beverage industry in Africa.  John has played a major role in uplifting grain science education in Africa, supervising more than 100 masters and doctoral graduates from across the continent. His professional service has included presidency of the International Association for Cereal Science and Technology, being a former associate editor of Cereal Chemistry and current editor-in-chief of the Journal of Cereal Science. 

Award Criteria

The prestigious Osborne Medal, established in 1926 to recognize distinguished contributions in the field of cereal chemistry, was named after the outstanding protein chemist Thomas Burr Osborne, who received the first award in 1928. This medal shall be awarded to an individual whose research in the field of cereal chemistry has contributed significantly to the progress of the science.

The recipient is given the opportunity to present at the Cereals & Grains Association Annual Meeting at which the medal is presented. Recipients of the Osborne Medal are also accorded the status of Cereals & Grains Association Fellow, if not already a Fellow.

Cereals & Grains Association Membership is required.​

How to Nominate

This award alternates every other year with the Philip Williams Award. The online award nomination form will be available f​rom November–January 31 in odd years.   

Completed nomination packets should include:

  • A cover letter addressed to Cereals & Grains Association headquarters describing why the nominee is worthy of consideration for the stated award
  • At least two and not more than five supporting letters
  • Curriculum vitae
  • List of publications
  • Nominations should address the activities most relevant to the award, with a clear statement of the impact the nominee has had in his/her specific area of expertise.

Previous Awardees

Thomas Burr Osborne 1932 Clyde Bailey
1936 Morris Blish 1938 Charles Swanson
1942 Ross Gortner 1945 John Baker
1948 Betty Sullivan 1950 William Geddes
1954 Rudolph Sandstedt 1957 J. Ansel Anderson
1961 Majel MacMasters 1964 Thomas Schoch
1967 Paul Pelshenke 1969 Nicolaas Badenhuizen
1971 Dale Mecham 1974 Roy Whistler
1976 Isydore Hlynka 1978 James Pence
1980 Yeshajahu Pomeranz 1983 Walter Bushuk
1985 Karl Finney 1986 Karl Norris
1988 Bienvenido Juliano 1989 Joseph Wall
1991 R. Carl Hoseney 1992 Colin Wrigley
1993 Donald Kasarda 1994 William Morrison
1996 Peter Payne 1998 Finlay MacRitchie
1999 Jerold Bietz 2000 Peter Shewry
2002 Paul Seib 2003 Olin Anderson
2004 Bruce Stone 2007 Herbert Wieser
Domenico Lafiandra
2009 ​Jan Delcour
​Geoff Fincher
​Per B. J. Aman
​Kaisa Poutanen
​Craig Morris
​John R. N. Taylor​