Cereals & Grains Association
Log In

Engineering & Processing Division​

About the Division

Officer Lis​ting


The Engineering and Processing Division was formed in 1990 for members who have an interest in Engineering and Processing.

Mission of the Engineering & Processing Division

  • Represent Cereals & Grains Association members who have an interest in the application of engineering and processing principles in cereal science.
  • Provide educational opportunities to enhance cereal science via engineering and processing principles.
  • Provide avenues of communication between Cereals & Grains Association and engineering societies.
  • Encourage closer cooperation and communication.

What does the Engineering & Processing Division Do?

  • The division presents a symposium at the Cereals & Grains Association Annual Meeting where invited engineers speak on pertinent topics and current issues relating to engineering. The division sponsored its first symposium in 1991.
  • Various awards are sponsored to recognize scientists and students working in the area of engineering and processing.


The Stanley Watson Award

Established in 2001, the Stanley Watson Award is named in honor of an early corn wet-milling pioneer who started his research at the USDA during the early 1940s. Watson made substantial contributions in the improvement of the wet-milling process. The award recognizes outstanding Cereals & Grains Association members who, through the application of engineering principles, have made significant contributions in the area of cereal/grain processing. The award carries $1000 towards the Cereals & Grains Association Annual Meeting travel and a lecture presentation to be delivered at the meeting. The winner will also be presented with a plaque. 

Nominations packets to include the following: 

  1. Name of Nominee
  2. Position
  3. Complete Address and Contact Information
  4. Area of Research
  5. One-page Nominating Statement detailing the nominee's significant contributions in the area of cereal/grain processing
    via application of engineering principles 
  6. Name and contact information of the Nominator

Nominations are due April 15 each year. Self-nominations are accepted.

Submit nominations to the Chair of the Cereals & Grains Association Engineering & Processing Division by April 15 each year.

Award Recipients

2001: Stanley Watson 
2003: Do Sup Chung 
2008: Rolando Flores 
2010: James D. Wideman
2012: Syed Rizvi
2019: Charles Hurburgh
2021: Girish Ganjyal​​

Best Student Paper Award

The Engineering and Processing Division sponsors a Best Student Paper Competition during the Cereals & Grains Association Annual Meeting. Students should submit annual meeting abstracts by the April 15th deadline and mark the appropriate check-box (E&P Division student paper competition) to be considered. Abstracts will be screened and 3 finalists selected who will be judged during their presentation (oral/ poster) in conference. The winner will receive an award of $500. Finalists are required to attend the Division luncheon at the Cereals & Grains Association Annual Meeting. The winner will be announced at the closing ceremony at the Cereals & Grains Association Annual Meeting.

Award Recipients

2018: Sravanthi Budaraju, University of Minnesota, Optimization of process variables for the microwave assisted extraction of phenolic compounds from barley malt rootlets - a low value by product from brewing industry

2017: Sangeeta Mukhopadhyay, University of Arkansas, Experimental simulation of cross-flow rice drying: effect of tempering approaches on milling yields

2016: Laura Roman, University of Valladolid, Spain, Multi-scale starch dissembling masks the effect of a highly branched structure on the digestion rate of extruded flour


  • First place: Ana Steen, Purdue University, New insights into processing conditions for formation of soft, food-based, nanoparticle delivery systems
  • Second place: Ryan Kowalski, Washington State University, Rheoligical stability of waxy wheat flour and its potential as a unique freeze-thaw stable ingredient
  • Third place: Hisfazilah Saari, Lund University, The influence of size, shape and hydrophobicity of starch for Pickering emulsion stabilization

2014: Sangeeta Mukhopadhyay, University of Arkansas, Impact of Rapid Moisture Adsorption on Rice Milling Yields

2013: Pavan Harshit Manepalli, Kansas State University, Mathematical modeling of flow behavior and cell structure formation during extrusion

 Past Division Chairs

  • 1991-92 Steve Eckhoff
  • 1992-93 Ken Hsu
  • 1993-94 Jim Steele
  • 1994-95 Curt Weller
  • 1995-96 Stephen Binder
  • 1996-97 Rolando Flores
  • 1997-98 Gene Fox
  • 1998-99 Kent Rausch
  • 1999-2000 Yujie Wang
  • 2000-01 Barmack Rassi
  • 2001-02 Vijay Singh
  • 2002-03 Stephen Delwiche
  • 2003-04 Dean Creighton
  • 2004-05 Wesley Twombly
  • 2005-06 Tom Pearson
  • 2006-07 ​​Jorge Morales
  • 2007-08 Girish Ganjyal
  • 2008-09 Hulya Dogan
  • 2009-10 Sajid Alavi
  • 2010-11 Rohit Jalali
  • 2011-12 Buddhi Lamsal
  • 2012-13 Heather Maskus​
  • 2013-14 Sathya Kalambur
  • 2014-2015 Supriya Varma
  • 2015-2016 Dilek Uzunalioglu
  • 2016-2017 Sandeep Bhatnagar
  • 2017-2018 Elena De La Pena
  • 2018-2019 Justin French
  • 2019-2020 Trent Wanamaker
  • 2020-2021 Goeran Walther​​​

How do I become a Member?

Division dues are $15 for regular members per calendar year and free for students. They are collected along with the Cereals & Grains Association membership dues.  If you are not currently a member of the division and would like to join, contact Cereals & Grains Association Headquarters here

Engineering and Process Division Bylaws